TODEPOND PONDCAST
TODEPOND PONDCAST
TODEPOND PONDCAST: What it means to be messy
0:00
-22:07

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of TODEPOND PONDCAST

TODEPOND PONDCAST: What it means to be messy

(and open)

Welcome back to another weekly episode of the...

🐸 TODEPOND PONDCAST 🐸

What's new this week?

Blur

Blur

I've been working more on the next video, Top 99 Ways To Make Sand, and I've been using heavy use of blur for a money shot in the intro.

"Money shot" can mean different things (apparently) but I'm using the meaning that means a shot of a film that's expensive to make, but considered important, or impactful to the film on the whole. For me, it usually means a long "one shot".

"One shot" means a shot of a film that doesn't have any cuts in it. It's one continuous shot, like Birdman and Beyond the Infinite Two Minutes.

Previous money shots include:

It feels like a required component of the Things in Things in Things series, and I'm doing more and more of them as time goes on.

I've been using heavy use of blur for a money shot in the intro. Unfortunately, it looked kinda bad to start with. When I rendered the video, it gained loads of visual artifacts, so I tried a whole bunch of things, like changing rendering settings, tweaking the numbers, using a different tool.

And I eventually made it better by switching to a combination of different blurs, instead of using just one. It also increased rendering speed a lot.

Me talking

Talk season

Talk season has started!

I have four talks lined up in a very short space of time.

First up, the Heart of Clojure conference in Leuven in Belgium. I don't speak any clojure, but they're open minded enough to have me do the opening keynote anyway. Naturally, my talk is about openness. It's called WHAT IT MEANS TO BE OPEN.

This post is for paid subscribers

TODEPOND PONDCAST
TODEPOND PONDCAST
Weekly update about slightly-surreal creative-coding.